top of page

12 Days of Christmas: The ELEVEN Faithful Disciples

When Jesus started His ministry, there were twelve disciples, including Judas Iscariot. Jesus knew from the beginning that Judas would betray Him (John 6:70) yet chose Him to follow His ministry for three years. Money was important to Judas, which is evident when he approached the chief priests to tell of Jesus, asking for money in return for Jesus’ delivery to them (Matthew 26:13-15). After Jesus was betrayed, Judas Iscariot felt remorse, returned the silver he received for Jesus’ betrayal and hanged himself (Matthew 27:3-10), leaving eleven faithful disciples of Jesus.

The first mention of them gathering together was when Jesus rose again and the disciples went to the mountain which Jesus had designated.

Let’s read Matthew 28:16-20 together before we look at the eleven disciples.

Matthew 28:16-20

Then the eleven disciples went away into Galilee, into a mountain where Jesus had appointed them. And when they saw him, they worshipped him: but some doubted. And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth. Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptising them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.

Who were the eleven faithful disciples?



bottom of page